How To Get iTune Music On Your iMac Version of Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum

This is the first game I have bought for my 2011 desktop iMac. I had trouble figuring out how to add custom sound tracks to the game. I finally figured it out.

ynotoasis Hold 'em High (Coaster's POV)

ynotoasis Hold ‘em High (Coaster’s POV) (Photo credit: labanex)

My computer specifics:

  • Operating System: 10.8.3
  • Processor: Intel Core i5
  • Numbers of cores: 4
  • Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
  • Memory: 12 GB
  • Hard Disk Space: 383.07 GB (I also have a Western Digital External hard drive of 2 TB)
  •  Video Card: Radeon HD 6750M, 512 MB Video Memory

How do I Get iTunes Music Onto “Roller Coaster Tycoon 3″ Platinum for a Mac computer

You might want to add your own music to RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum (RCT3P.) RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum automatically creates a folder for music when the game is installed. You can add your songs to this folder easily, whether you use iTunes. Once copied, your songs will be accessible within the game like other music and sounds are.

Instructions

1 Open a new “Finder” window. Click on “Music”. Click on “iTunes”. Click on “iTunes Media”. Click on “Music”. Now locate the folder with the music mp3 file that you want to add to RCT3P. Locate the mp3 file you want to add to RCT3P within that folder.


2 “Copy” the song by holding down the “Control” key and clicking your mouse.


3 Open a new “Finder” window. Click on “Applications”. Locate “Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum”. Hold down the “Control” key and click your mouse on the “Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum” Application. Click “Show Content Package”.

4 Click on the “Contents” folder. Click on “GameData” Folder. Click on “Music” folder.


5 “Paste” the copied mp3 into this folder. Repeat this process with all the songs you want to add.

6 Run your RCT3P application. On the Main Screen click on Options. Click “Use Music from Your iTunes “RCT3” playlist.”

***NOTE***: For some reason when I run my RCT3P application and it starts to load after a few company logo screens I get a message box that reads “RollerCoaster Tycoon Platinum: Querying iTunes for the available music in the “RCTS” playlist. This may take up to a minute. Click Ok” then I get another pop up box that reads: “RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: There was an unexpected error while communicating with iTunes. Click OK.” Everything works right and the music I installed is there and plays where I put it. I do not know why I get those pop-up boxes. Go figure.

Related articles

About Virginian John

Virginian John is friendly, helpful, and polite. Learn more about Virginian John at: http://innerandout.wordpress.com/about-2/about/

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Games, Video Games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have this game through Steam, and neither iTunes nor the other method works… Any ideas?

  2. Sorry Rachel, I have no idea how else to help you.That is the only way I know of getting music in the game. I am new to owning a Mac coming from years of PC uses. The Mac is very confusing to me. I have only one game on this Mac and that is this RCT3. I wish I could help you.

    By the way…do not get upset or frustrated if you can not get reflective water to work on RCT3. It does not work properly on a Mac. Also, there is a lot of animation clipping with peeps and rides. I was so excited to play this game then I was let down by how Mac has glitches with it.

    I was thinking of buying Simcity 5 Deluxe for Mac. However, I have seen that PC users have had sever trouble getting it to work and I am not sure if I want to pay $60 until I see other Mac users have good experience with it.

    I do hope you get your game to work. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

